Move over law expanding to non-emergency vehicles

Oregon – Starting January 1, drivers must move over to another lane or slow down by at least 5 miles an hour below the speed limit for any vehicle stopped at the side of the road with hazard lights or other signs of distress.

Under the previous law, drivers only had to move over or slow down for emergency vehicles such as law enforcement, tow trucks, and ambulances that were displaying emergency lights.

Failing to slow down or move over is a Class B traffic violation.

According to the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT), the law was created to increase safety for motorists stopped on the side of the road- between 2011 and 2015 in Oregon, ODOT says there were 167 serious car crashes and eight fatal car crashes in incidents where a vehicle was parked on the side of the road and there was no emergency vehicle with lights on involved. During that same time frame, in incidents where an emergency vehicle with lights on was helping a motorist, there were six serious crashes and no fatalities.

Fender Bender reporting threshold jumps to $2,500

Starting January 1, Motorists in Oregon will not be required to report a fender bender if the damage is under $2,500. This is an increase from a $1,500 damage threshold that had been in place since 2004.

According to ODOT, the damage threshold is being increased to reflect an increase in cost to repair vehicles since 2004, and to allow DMV staff to focus their resources on more significant crashes.

You must report a vehicle crash to DMV within 72 hours if:
* Damage to any vehicle is over $2,500;
* Any vehicle is towed from the scene;
* Injury or death resulted from this incident; or
* Damages to property other than a vehicle involved in the crash is more than $2,500